Keeping My Eye on The Prize

For those of you still bearing with me through this whole venture, thank you and greetings! I am definitely still mastering the art of balance. After returning back to work and still adjusting to parenthood and being a new mom, I feel like I am in a whirlwind.

Since I have a few free minutes I decided I would give a little life update. I have returned back to my job after twelve blissful weeks of family time and baby snuggles. I had hoped that I wouldn’t have to return to work after having Theodore, but not everything has gone according to plan. Surprising, right? Because when does life ever really go as planned? Atlas, I am back at my job and embracing  being a working Mom. Thankfully, I have been able to go back to work part time which has made leaving Theodore a lot more bearable. It has been very healthy for me to have a reason to have to leave the house multiple times a week and to have various social interactions.  Its crazy how much you don’t realize you have secluded yourself after having a baby.

The balance of work and family is starting to become manageable, although I am always begging for more time with my boys in our little infinity.

But, for a few weeks things did not seem manageable.

I was trying to  keep myself very tightly together and suddenly everything started to feel out of control. I blame sleep deprivation first and for most. I also blame postpartum because the whole experience is just so damn much, not to mention the ragging and changing hormones.

For a few days I feel like I really lost my composure and in those days I learned some very valuable things.

  • For one, you can’t give up. If you give up and you quit then you will never know how far you can go. There have been so many days from my pregnancy to today (three months postpartum) that I all I wanted was to give up. Knowing what I know now, all I would change was my negative attitude and faith in my ability to handle the storm and ride out the waves.
  • For two, you can’t stress about life. No matter what you’re going to have struggles and life is going to test you. The more you stress about it the more you are wasting your time and energy, which is quiet limited if you think about it.
  • For three, it really helps to talk about your feelings. As cliche as it is, it’s true. Just talking out the thoughts in your head can help any situation. I found myself feeling all this pint up negative energy leave my body as soon as I started talking about the way I was feeling.
  • Lastly, keep goals in front of you. After a few months of things not going at all the way we have planned, I am proud to say we have pushed  through all the bullshit and are still battling strong. How? By setting goals everyday. We started with little ones and tackled big goals we had for months, all within a few weeks.

I am so thankful that I have had a partner to go through the trenches with and a family that loves and helps us as we endure adulthood and parenthood. I am finally feeling like things are settling down again and I am able to gather myself. With that being said, I am hoping to keep the updates coming and dedicate more time to this venture of mine.

 

 

Leave a Reply

